Crazy running fool!

I mentioned in my Skirtember post last week that I had started a running program.  I am following the C25k program, this is a tried and tested method of getting from couch potato to 5k runner in nine weeks (see, told you I was a sucker for a time-based challenge!).

I am not a natural runner – that is possibly the understatement of the century.  At age three, when most kids can run ALL DAY LONG, I held up the town sports day because I was so slow at the kids’ running race.  The stewards were trying to get me off the track because the next race couldn’t start but I kept plodding along!  I am not unfit but I am built for stamina and not speed!  I did the Moonwalk marathon last year and while I trained a lot for it, never once did I think that I wouldn’t be able to do it.  I would like to be able to run though so I am trying to put in a bit of effort to learn how to do it properly!

I found a picture online which sums up where I am with it just now –

*sigh*, it’s funny because it is sooooo true, ah well!

The only problem with doing this is trying to fit in the runs.  Half an hour doesn’t seem too tricky to find but the planets must be perfectly aligned-

  • I have to be either off work or working the late shift
  • The kids have to be at school (more on this in a minute!)
  • I have to not have eaten (or else I feel sick when running)
  • The dog has to have been walked (can’t take him with me as he won’t run on the lead!)

I did try to go out running with the kids during the holiday – DISASTER!!!!  Alexander could easily run alongside me – in fact, he showed me up by running ahead during the walking ‘recovery’ breaks!  I thought I was ahead of the game by getting Ruby to bring her scooter.  She can scooter all day long so I thought she would just whiz along beside us and we’d all come back with a rosy glow.  Fast forward six minutes – halfway through the first run, Ruby fell behind and started shouting for us to stop.  I shouted over my shoulder for her to keep going, she could catch up while we were walking.  Then during the second run the same thing happened except this time she refused to keep going, I shouted again for her to catch up, she started wailing that she couldn’t go any further (we were ten minutes from our house, not even as far as their school!) Alexander stuck his oar in and told Ruby that she was just being lazy – he’s ever so helpful, isn’t he?!  The rest of the run continued with Ruby crying and me shouting like a fishwife then about three minutes before the end of the session Alexander got a stitch and you’d think he’d been shot!  At this point Ruby exacted her revenge, found a reserve of energy, zoomed ahead on her scooter and kept looking back at Alexander with a gloating expression.  When we got home I was frazzled and there was no hint of rosy glow so we didn’t try that again!!

I move up the the next level of the running program tomorrow and I am a little bit scared.  Nothing else for it but to keep putting one foot in front of the other!

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Crazy running fool!

  1. Tracey Hand says:

    Oh Laura, I just laughed so much at your post!
    Firstly, at the picture, with which I can completely identify.
    Secondly, at your “running with kids” tale. I am now being looked at like some sort of freak because I’m stifling outbursts of laughter just thinking back to it! (something akin to how they all look at me when I’m reading “Damn you, Autocorrect”!)

    Fingers crossed you’ll get many more opportunities to train and knock ‘em dead with your 5k :)
    You’ll soon be looking like the first pic, as well as feeling it, I’m sure!

    (I am going to investigate the C25K link – but only out of curiosity, of course. I have no such good intentions. It’s still too flipping hot LOL)

    • Oh yes, that is the other ‘alignment of planets requirement’ it has to be before 11am because otherwise it is too hot!

      Glad the ‘running with kids’ gave you a laugh – I am only glad we don’t know many people in the town because it was not my finest moment!

      L xxx

  2. Yerda says:

    Just take it easy Laura. More people give up exercise by pushing too far too fast.

    • Yes, it is a great program in that respect – you exercise three times per week, at whatever speed you want and the intervals gradually get longer. At three weeks I was doing Walk 5 mins, (run 90 sec, walk 90 sec, run 3 mins, walk 3 mins) x 2, and you do that three times in the week before moving to the next level. Slow and steady is the only setting I have!

  3. sarah says:

    I have to say Laura i do admire your determination!! to have gone out twice with them. lol x

Leave a Reply

