Things I will not miss about our pre-emi life!

There are lots and lots of things I probably will miss about our current life in Scotland.  We have great friends, a lovely family, lots of people who have known us for years…..

However…

I will not miss the weather, currently mid June and it is 10 degrees celcius, grey and drizzly and has been for the last four days.  If the kids don’t get some sun soon then they are at risk of rickets!  I know that people in Melbourne complain about their weather being so changeable, but at least some of the changes will be nice, warm weather!

I will not miss the flat we are living in.  It is like living in a caravan!  It’s GREAT that we could get a local, furnished flat for three months but we are tripping over each other!

I will not miss our lack of garden.  Poor Alexander and Ruby have had no-where to play for the last couple of months.  It will be lovely to let them run free again!

I will not miss the walk to and from school – especially given the current weather – or the wait in between the time when Ruby gets out and Alexander gets out.  It takes two hours to get them home from school!

I will not miss the growing chav culture in Penicuik.  Two stabbings in the last two months.  Gangs of Hibs casuals targetting the town.  This is not somewhere I want my children to live.

I will not miss giving 50 people a day an update about what stage we are at in our aim to get to Australia.  If you ever consider moving then don’t tell anyone until the last minute – you end up telling the same story over and over to people who won’t even notice you are gone!

I am writing all these things down so that on days that I am not sure why we moved all the way across the world I can look back and remember!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Things I will not miss about our pre-emi life!

  1. Tracey Hand says:

    “I will not miss giving 50 people a day an update about what stage we are at in our aim to get to Australia. If you ever consider moving then don’t tell anyone until the last minute – you end up telling the same story over and over to people who won’t even notice you are gone!”

    This bit made me chuckle. I can relate… and luckily for us, it hasn’t been going on for many years!

    Maybe what we should do is print business cards out with a blog address! If someone asks online, we can paste a link. If they ask in ‘real life’ they can have a card!

    I’m excited for you. I’m counting down YOUR days as much as I am my own LOL

  2. David S says:

    Someone-I-know can’t keep it straight that you are not in Australia yet: Every time I’ve met her for the past year she asks how you are enjoying Australia. I’m getting bored saying you’re not quite there yet. I’ll maybe start making stuff up.
    “They’ve just opened a shark-riding academy.”
    “They didn’t like all the sunshine and have moved to Iceland instead.”
    “Dingos ate them all. It was quite sad.”

Leave a Reply

