Weekend Update

Well Friday night/Saturday morning was a total nightmare!  Larry screamed and cried all night long in the laundry room.  I went through a couple of times to let him out and each time was greeted with little presents he had left on the floor for me.  I am not at my best when I have been up all night and even less so when I have spent much of that night cleaning dog crap off the floor.  I am Julie Andrews compared to Michael though!  He was not remotely sympathetic to Larry’s plight!

It’s just as well he’s cute! 

I know that the theory is that dogs should be shut in a room by themselves and that they will get used to it and not care after a couple of days but at the same time I don’t want to have to wade through s*** every time I open the laundry room door and how are you supposed to night-train them if you just ignore them crying?!

So Saturday morning was a bit of a non-event.  I tried to take Larry outside to have a pee but he often just stood there or sniffed about and then came inside and ‘went’ on the floor!  I kept trying and made it more worthwhile by taking little lumps of cheese with me as rewards and we managed to get a few outdoors!

We had promised the kids that we would take them to the big toy sale with the money that they had saved from their birthdays and unfortunately, the sale was this weekend.  I didn’t think we should go because I didn’t want to leave Larry and really, the kids shouldn’t need toys when they have a new puppy to play with!  Michael did want to take the kids though and I hate promising something and then going back on it so we did go.  We shut Larry in the laundry again and set out.

Alexander chose a huge Star Wars big walking dog looking thing and a whole load of figures.  He was delighted and I am sure most boys (big and small) would have a ball playing with something like that – certainly Michael seemed to enjoy helping him put it together!

Ruby got a Zhu-zhu pet house.  Zhu-zhu pets are little toy hamster things that make wee hamster noises and zoom about on wheels.  The house they have is all full of tunnels and they zoom all round it while Ruby watches!  I highly recommend them as pets – they don’t make any mess!

Speaking of mess – when we got home, Larry had crapped all over the place and was heartbroken at being left alone.  I cleaned up and mopped the floor (again) and then we had to help the kids set up their new toys.  I hate how much packaging there is on kids toys – they have practically grown out of them by the time you get all the wee twisty bits off!

In the evening we went to Linda and Hughie’s house for dinner.  Hughie had made some lovely curries and their friend Nora and her daughter and future son-in-law were coming too.  We had a great night of blethering and delicious food.  I must get his recipe for beef vindaloo because is was scrummy!!

We had some delicious cake afterwards – with candles for Linda’s birthday

Larry was a perfect angel while we were there.  He just sat at my feet or on my knee all night.  He even helped Ruby to feel better when she fell over and bumped her head – a puppy compress to the lap and she was much better!!

We got home, all entirely knackered.  The kids went straight to bed and Michael and I stayed up for a little while.  Larry perked up a wee bit so we had a bit of a play with him.  Remember the other week when the kids and I went out and bought some toys for him?  Well here is his favourite –

Yup, a pair of old socks tied in a knot!  His wee mouth is too small for the bigger toys just now so he is just setting about killing these socks instead!

We decided that rather than have a re-run of last night we would take Larry into our room.  We got a high-sided box and put his bed inside with a hot water bottle wrapped in a towel.  According to a book I read which is supposed to be the leading puppy training book out, we should keep him in our room while he is being toilet trained and then move him out if we want – so that’s what we decided to go for and it was sooooooooooooooooo much better!  He curled up and went straight to sleep.  Hurrah!  He whimpered a couple of times in the night, I scooped him out of bed, took him outside and he did his thing then it was straight back to sleep for both of us!  Michael barely grunted when I got up and the kids weren’t disturbed at all.  It seems to make sense to me to carry on with this method!

We didn’t get up until gone 9am and spent the morning chilling

and trying to get more pee in the garden than on the floors!  Limited success, but success none the less!

We went to the library in the afternoon and decided to leave Larry in the living room rather than in the laundry.  We were gone for about an hour and a half because we did the shopping too and when we got home he was still snuggled up in his basket – awwww, good boy!  He clearly just doesn’t like the laundry!

Shopping this week looks like this (in bad lighting, but by the time I realised this I had it all set up and I wasn’t about to move it all just to take a pic!!)

Meals will look like this

  • Chinese Pork
  • Butter Chicken
  • Flake in bacon
  • Prawn Stir Fry
  • Macaroni Cheese
  • Homemade Pizza
  • Chilli (bumped from last week)

We popped up to Bunnings (like B&Q)  for a few things we need and also because Hughie was doing a fundraising sausage sizzle outside in aid of Cameron’s school.  We had a few snags and a chin-wag in the sunshine then headed home. 

I had my Sunday night bath then made an Auntie Carol dinner before speaking to Mum and Dad on Skype.  It was lovely, as always to catch up with them.  Only 16 weeks until they come to visit!

Here’s hoping that Larry will be as good tonight as he was last night!

Did I mention just how gorgeous he is?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

