I *do* like Mondays!

Up at 6am today and had a nice hour to myself before the Parklets emerged from their igloos (bedrooms are still freezing in the mornings!).  I had a lovely chat with friends Pauline and Correen – it’s quite a good time to catch people in the UK actually!

Up to school – all organised due to our early start!  I came home, swept, mopped, did laundry, cleaned the bathrooms – all those glamourous jobs!  I managed to cram in some knitting and had a crack at some homemade ‘hedgehog’ for the kids after school snack.  Hedgehog is a kind of rocky road type slice but all the recipes I found called for a beaten egg but no cooking.  I feel a bit weird making something with raw egg so left out the sugar and butter and used condensed milk instead.  It ended up not really being anything like the hedgehog I’ve had out and about but it was very nice nonetheless!  The recipe I came up with was

  • 250g plain biscuits, crushed but with a few lumpy bits
  • 4 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 4 tbsp coconut
  • half tin of condensed milk

Mix it all together, press it into a tin lined with greaseproof paper, sprinkle over more coconut and roll with beloved Pampered Chef Baker’s Roller (if you don’t have one, you should get one!) until the coconut is all pressed in.  Put in freezer to a) set quickly and b) stop you eating it. 

I popped round to Karen’s to help her move some furniture and we had a quick cuppa before going back to school to get the kids.

A and R had a good day today – not many details but everyone was happy!  They had a motivational assembly on Friday from the NED organisation (Never give up, Encourage others and Do your best).  From what I can gather it was someone telling them motivational stuff while doing yo-yo tricks.  Yo-yo’s were a very big part of it and the kids could order their own NED yoyo for the bargain price of $14 – call me a cynic but why does every ‘great opportunity’ always have something that the parents have to pony up the money for?!!  Anyway, they got their yo-yos today so I am $28 lighter and I can pretty much guarantee that in 3-5 days we will have two yo-yo shaped paperweights.  They ‘played’ their yo-yos all the way to the post office with me having a heart attack every time we went past a car/person/baby buggy as Alexander was attempting the eight year old version of ’round the world’ which is basically swinging a yo-yo round your head at high speed!

Parcels sent, we returned home and the kids gave my non-hedgehog slice the big thumbs up.  They continued to swing their yo-yos around until Michael got home.  During this time I opened a letter from Telstra (our bafflingly exclusive telephone company) – it was a bill charging us $0 for the services we have had so far!  Well yes, I should think so but it was the final baffling straw that broke the camel’s back.  I phoned the service number (which oddly we could phone from our non-connected home phone) and spoke – for an hour and seven minutes – to a lovely girl who basically said that everything we had been told by the pillocks up the street was tripe and that we could have a phone connected tomorrow morning!  Yay!!  It will be a month before we can get our internet connected but we can’t have everything!!  What a bleeding palaver!

I was going to go for a driving lesson tonight but by the time I got off the phone it was dark so I just made dinner and we’ll leave the lesson for another night.

This was dinner tonight

Kangaroo sausages!!  Cheap as chips and very yummy!  They are really meaty (bit obvious!) more like beef sausages than pork.  Everyone enjoyed them but they were a bit too big for A & R – I was happy to assist!

Dishes done, lunches for tomorrow made, read to the kids in their beds and dog in and out to the garden and then it was time for bed.

This entry was posted in recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I *do* like Mondays!

  1. Yerda says:

    Love the kanga bangas!!!!!! We want some when wecome over. We have had kangaroo steaks before but never snags!

Leave a Reply

