What to do with an old pair of jeans?

Ruby has grown an inch or two since we have been here and her favourite jeans are now too short.  She was really sad about it (who doesn’t hate it when they need to go jeans shopping?!) and so was I because they are super cute jeans!  They were originally a hand me down from a girl who was at nursery with Alexander and they have been worn since they only just fit Ruby until now when they are undeniably too small so they really don’t owe us anything.  Does that mean that I just chuck them out though?  Does it heck!

I saw a great tutorial online about how to turn a pair of jeans into a skirt – I found that from a link on The Frugal Girl’s blog.  So I thought I would give it a shot!

Here are the jeans as they were

The project involves quite a bit of seam unpicking …

‘Help’ from a soppy puppy is optional …

I am pretty pleased with the finished article …

There was an extra leg section left (extra as in as yet unused not as in creepy three legged daughter) so rather than waste it I made a wee bag from it …

I used some ribbon that I had stashed as the handle (see, it WAS worth shipping it 10,000 miles!)

I would have taken a picture of Ruby wearing it because she put it on as soon as she got home, but within seconds she had spilt half a pot of yoghurt down it! *sigh*

She is really happy with her new outfit though and I am delighted to have made a brand new skirt for her for NADA!

This entry was posted in sewing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What to do with an old pair of jeans?

  1. Shona says:

    Glad she has got a lot of wear out of them – Kimberley wore them all the time, they were her favourites to!

Leave a Reply

