Ironing and bike ride

After my job interview yesterday when I wore my nice black boots and not my trainers for the first time in about a month, my heel freaked out again and I could barely walk this morning.  I hobbled up the road to get the kids to school and then came home and thought what jobs I could do that would not include an awful lot of moving around.  Oh look …

… isn’t that lucky!  I had a HUGE ironing pile ^^^ this stuff and another load which was still on the line at the time I took this pic!

I stood on one leg and did THREE HOURS of ironing!  Ta-da …

There’s nothing else for it, we’re going to have to become nudists!  That is a ridiculous amount of ironing for four people to have in less than a week!  As well as all this there were pyjamas, underwear and socks all folded and the whole lot put away – phew!

By the time all this was done it was pretty much time to limp up the road to get the kids from school again!  They wanted to ride their bikes home via the creek and while I just wanted to get home and put my foot up, they had been cooped up all day and it was GORGEOUS outside so we went with their plan!  They zoomed along the path and just soaked up the sunshine.  Aaah, so nice to think that there are a few months of pretty much guaranteed sunshine ahead of us (watch, this will be the worst summer they’ve had for decades!)

Alexander was furious about how much rubbish there was caught on the rocks and informed me that he would be going down to do something about it.  I reminded him that we had no bags with us to collect it (not to mention that I had no desire to climb down the rocks or to see him attempt it!) but that we could email the council to tell them about it.  He agreed but with the condition that if they haven’t sent someone round by the weekend he will go down there himself!  His environmental conscience is to be applauded but I know him well enough to know that he will have forgotten all about it by then!

This entry was posted in Aussie life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ironing and bike ride

  1. David says:

    You ironed all those clothes? Blimey!

    • Where is your emphasis in this sentence? YOU ironed all those clothes? (calling into question my good housewifelyness), you IRONED all those clothes (calling into question my skill at ironing), you ironed ALL those clothes (amazed at my good housewifely skill at ironing!)

      It makes all the difference!

Leave a Reply

