Oooooh, I forgot to say …

I can’t believe I forgot to tell you this!  I passed my driving test!  At the ripe old age of 32 I am finally driving!

I went for my test on the 30th and was all set to go in our own car with the tester sitting in the passenger seat when he announced that we couldn’t go – he couldn’t test me because he couldn’t see the speedometer clearly.  Bummer!  I was all worked up and ready to go so I was really dissappointed!  I knew that the wait for another appointment would be about six weeks and that seems like AGES away.

Thankfully, the tester took pity on me and opened up an appointment for the next day.  Then I just had to find another car to take the test in.  I phoned my instructor to see if I could use his but he was on holiday a couple of hundred kilometres away.  I phoned round all the other instructors in town and finally got someone who could do it.

She picked me up from work the next day and I had a quick drive around to get used to her car then I went for the test.  I was pretty nervous – the day before there had been no pressure because we were using our own car (about $200 cheaper!) but now I REALLY didn’t want to fail and lose all that money!!

The tester and my new instructor knew each other pretty well so they chatted the whole way round the test route which was SOOOOOO much easier than driving in silence!

I didn’t speed, I didn’t run over anyone, I didn’t hit anything – it all went pretty well!

I was soooooooooo glad to hear that I passed.  Since then I have been driving to work, going out to get my colleagues lunch, taking the kids to far off parks and going girly shopping with Ruby.

Of course, once Michael goes back to work there my be some negotiations about car usage.  The idea of public transport TERRIFIES him, not because he would have to sit with ‘the great unwashed’ but because he is scared of being late.  A trial run is out of the question of course (eye rolling!)

For now though, it’s great to be able to jump in the car and zoom out whenever the mood takes me!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Oooooh, I forgot to say …

  1. frugal urban says:

    Congratulations!! That is so exciting. My husband just got his last month–at 33! It’s a great feeling to have that driving freedom!

Leave a Reply

