Horiatiki Salad

I am not a big fan of lettuce so I don’t often make salads because when I think of salad I think of lettuce.  I have been watching some of the new Jamie Oliver series – the 30 minute meals one – and he has made some really nice looking salads on there with not and iceberg in sight!  I was inspired to find some new ideas for the hot days when I can’t bring myself to turn the oven on.

I found this on Jamie Oliver’s website – Horiatiki Salad.  I made it in about five minutes and it was SCRUMMY!!  I changed it a bit from JO’s quantities.  If you want his recipe then you can google it, this is what I did though …

  • 1 cucumber, peeled and cut into thick slices
  • 1/2 green pepper, thinly sliced
  • small red onion, thinly sliced
  • 3 tomatoes, roughly chopped
  • handful of kalamata olives
  • 100g feta cheese, cut into small cubes

combine all of these ingredients in a bowl, season with black pepper and sprinkle over some oregano then slosh over 4 tbsp olive oil and 4 tbsp red wine vinegar – toss all together and eat straight away.  I served it with grilled asparagus with garlic and lemon butter and a big hunk of ciabatta to mop up the dressing/garlic butter a la francaise!  (apologies for lack of accent and cedilla!)

Uber-yum!  I will definitely make this again, it was so tasty!

This entry was posted in recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Horiatiki Salad

  1. Jacq says:

    It’s not really salad season here but when it arrives, then I’m definitely going to make this. I think the kids might even eat it, and if they don’t they can fill up on bread.

Leave a Reply

