A Holy Grail Dinner!

If you have read my blog for any length of time you will know that my family’s dislikes of various foods are the bane of my life.  Whenever I find a dinner that everyone is happy with I am very excited!  I am even more excited about this one because I made it up and they STILL enjoyed it!!

Chicken and Broccoli Pie

  • Puff pastry (rolled thin if in Scotland, 2 sheets if in Oz!) Enough to line and lid a pie dish anyway!
  • 1-2 chicken breasts, chopped into small chunks
  • 1 large head of broccoli
  • knob of butter
  • tbsp cornflour
  • some milk (I don’t measure – just add a little and stir until it thickens and then add a little at a time, allowing it to thicken each time, until I have as much as I want)
  • chicken stock cube
  • 2 tbsp grated cheese (I used parmesan but you could use cheddar)
  • black pepper
  • Olive oil
  • whisked egg

In a large pan brown the chicken then add the broccoli and allow it to steam while you make the sauce.

In a small pan melt the butter then add the cornflour and stir to combine, pour in the milk as described above then crumble in the stock cube.  Add cheese and pepper to the sauce.

Line a casserole or pie dish with puff pastry.  Have another sheet ready to use as the lid.

Drain any excess fluid from the chicken and broccoli and then pour the sauce into the big pan, mix it together and whack it into the lined dish.  Bung the lid on, squish the seams together (seams isn’t the word but it’s the only one my brain is releasing right now!) and then brush the top with egg to make it nice and shiny when it’s cooked.

Stick the pie in the oven for about 20 minutes at about 180-200 degrees (I didn’t measure time or temp as everything is already cooked except the pastry so you are just waiting for that to go nice and golden)

In that 20 minutes you can cook whatever potatoes or veggies you want to go with it.

This makes enough for four average appetites (the kids eat the same size portions as us).

This entry was posted in recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Holy Grail Dinner!

  1. Tracey Hand says:

    Does that cook the pastry on the bottom ok then? I always worry about pastry linings and tend to just bung a layer on the top to avoid the issue (but a proper, top and bottom, pie is SO much nicer!)

    Am definitely going to try this recipe. Both my boys each brocolli and I just won’t tell Nik it has brocolli in it LOL

    Thanks for sharing and YAY to the holy grail dinner!

    • Yes, I never even thought about it (I am a bit of a slap-dash cook!) I cooked it in a square pyrex casserole dish but the pastry was still lovely and crisp! Let me know how it goes if you try it!

  2. Yerda says:

    Hallelujah!!!!! Sounds great. Gonna make me some next time we are round at your house?

Leave a Reply

