Fun with Chocolate Cookies!

I usually try to have something nice for the kids afternoon tea ready on days when I am not working but sometimes time gets the better of me and I don’t manage to get anything made.

I had one of these days recently, the hours between the morning and afternoon school runs just evaporated and suddenly it was 20 minutes before I had to head out to get them again and there was no yummy treat!

I remembered a recent Frugal Girl post where she made mouldable cookie dough for her kids to make their own creations.  It was SUPER easy and I had everything in so I whipped it all together and stuck it in the freezer so that it was more manageable for when we got home.

We had a great time making our cookies.  The kids loved being given free rein on what they could make – and even more so because they knew they could eat whatever they made!!

We took a third of the dough each and I made our initials and a love-heart each to have with our ice cream for dessert.  (I lost out on this deal as the one with the most simple first letter!) 

 Both A & R took it upon themselves to make similar initial shapes to share with the rest of the family, even though I kept saying that they didn’t have to make them for other people.  I thought that was really sweet of them.

They were very pleased with their creations

Although Ruby could have kept at it all day!

I just made some plain round ones with the dough I had left over and while I thought I had creamed the butter in properly, this little guy was hiding inside – hee hee!  Made me giggle!

I would highly recommend this as a great way to pass an hour with your kids over the holidays.

Here is the recipe – let me know how they go if you try them!

2/3 cup butter, at room temperature
1 cup sugar
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
2 eggs
2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 cup powdered cocoa
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt

Cream the butter and sugar, add the eggs and vanilla.  Combine all the dry ingrdients and then mix the wet and dry mixtures together.  Put in the fridge for a few hours (or the freezer for the duration of the school run 🙂 )  Bake at 170c for about 8 minutes.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fun with Chocolate Cookies!

  1. marie says:

    Love this- have just copied the recipe down and plan to make in the Easter hols- looks great fun and brilliant as I am working ny on full time at the moment and there seems to be little time for doing cool, fun stuff!!
    Love reading your blog by the way xxxx

  2. Yerda says:

    Sounds great fun!!!

Leave a Reply

