Sunday in Fitzroy Gardens

Yesterday we drove into the city to visit Jeni and Dave.  It was Jeni’s birthday on Friday so we wanted to see her.  I made some red velvet cupcakes for her and as they had both completed the 14km ‘Run for the Kids’ charity run that morning they could enjoy them with no guilt …

(Michael and I feel no such guilt so even though we didn’t run, we ate :-))

It was such a beautiful day that we decided to take a walk around Fitzroy Park.  It is in super-swanky East Melbourne and is the home of Captain Cook’s Cottage – the oldest house in Australia, not because it was the first house built here, but because it was originally built in England, was broken up like lego, shipped over and re-built.  I am all for retaining some of the comforting aspects of the old country but that was taking it waaaaaay too far!  Seriously dude, people had been living here for thousands of years before you pitched up and couldn’t *possibly* survive without your cottage from the other side of the world!  That said it was a jolly nice little cottage and we will go back and visit it in more detail at some point.  Today was just for wandering!

The kids took their scooters, a footy ball and a skipping rope – which seemed like a good idea until we realised that they couldn’t go their scooters, skip and punt the footy at the same time so we took the scooters for them while they played.

Oh what a chore!  I don’t know why I bothered getting my license – scootering is such fun!!

Ruby has recently become obsessed with skipping.  I love how much effort she is putting into it in this pic!

 She doesn’t walk anywhere anymore, she skips everywhere!  She’s getting pretty good at it and is trying to master crossing the rope over while she skips.  I used to be pretty good at this (if I say so myself ;-)) so I had a go to see if I still could – I can, but my pelvic floor is not what it used to be!

While Roo skipped about and Jeni and I scooted along behind her, the boys booted the footy back and forwards between them.  I spent AGES trying to get this pic of A dropkicking – I kept missing my favourite bit, when his tongue pops out for supreme concentration!

The light was beautiful in the park.  It is now autumn here but it was bright, sunny and with temperatures in the mid 20s.  It was a gorgeous day.

We found a tree with some really low branches and so I attempted to get a nice pic of the kids together.  Of course, the lack of said pic will alert you to the failure of this endeavour.  They are entirely unable to sit next to each other and look happy or even vaguely normal so we booted Alexander (the usual antagonist) and just got a nice pic of Ruby instead.  Poor girl has now managed to have a picture taken without looking like she is about to throw up but has a terrible case of circumoral dermatitis. 

Her skin goes nutty sometimes, she’s had flaky eyes and burnt looking fingers so far this year but this is just so awful – she’s been on every cream recommended and then steroids from the docs and finally a cream from the doc that is so potent he needed authority from Canberra to prescribe it!

Alexander preferred to climb the tree (fair enough, he is a nearly nine year old boy and I should probably worry about him more if he’d rather sit and smile beside his sister than climb a tree!)

It is probably a better representation of Alexander’s expression anyway (but I would, at some point, like to have a pic of the two of them together looking like they don’t hate each other – just once!)

I even managed to remember to ask Jeni to take a pic of Michael and me together.  We have hardly any pictures of us together because one of us is always on the other end of the camera.  I love this one though, thank you Jeni!

And while she had the camera anyway, she took one of the four of us together – again, we don’t have many of these!

It all went a bit wrong after this as Alexander went into an almighty huff about something or other and was spectacularly badly behaved – more about that another time though – for now, this was a gorgeous day, spent with fantastic friends in our amazing new adopted home city!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sunday in Fitzroy Gardens

  1. Tracey Hand says:

    Gorgeous photos, Laura. I especially love A’s climing pic and the piccies of you and M and all four of you.

    I empathise with the sibling photo traumas. It’s equally difficult/impossible here too. Maybe one day, eh?

    Oh, and I LOL-ed bigtime and the pelvic floor comment! Empathy there too 😀 x

  2. Tracey Hand says:

    Gorgeous photos, Laura. I especially love A’s climbing pic and the piccies of you and M and all four of you.

    I empathise with the sibling photo traumas. It’s equally difficult/impossible here too. Maybe one day, eh?

    Oh, and I LOL-ed bigtime and the pelvic floor comment! Empathy there too 😀 x

  3. sarah says:

    lovely post. i laughed at the sibling wars issue. here it’s just the same and they’re attempting to kill each other slowly and painfully throughout the Easter holidays. I do love A’s photo face pulling, it wouldn’t be a family park picture without it.

Leave a Reply

