One year on

At the end of last of last month we celebrated our first anniversary of arriving in Australia.  It has been a very quick and fairly dramatic year for us.  We’ve had highs and lows – mostly highs though it has to be said!

Moving here was a bit of a gamble.  We had a reasonable life back in Scotland.  We had a house, Michael had a good job, we had a great circle of friends.  When we moved here we had no house, no jobs and we knew five people!

There have been a couple of times when I have thought ‘What have we done?!’ – I think that is only natural when moving your family to the other side of the world!  I never really appreciated the comfort that I drew from so much familiarity.  I don’t even mean friends and family, just places, voices, words that are familiar.  I find myself using words I rarely used in Scotland just so I can hear them!  The first time I saw someone I recognised from here drive past in their car I wanted to run home and tell Michael about it!  I still get excited if I see someone I know in the supermarket because the VAST, VAST majority of people here are complete strangers.  In Penicuik, even if I didn’t know someone, chances are that I knew something about them – where they worked, if they had kids the same age as my kids and in all probability they were related to either my friend Pauline or my friend Eileen!! 

Before we moved here people would ask us why we were moving.  We just wanted a different way of life.  Things certainly have changed!  For me the biggest changes have been learning to drive and getting my wee car and working at the doctors’.  I LOVE my car and the thought that I can just jump in it any time and zoom off somewhere!  I really enjoy working too.  Although the job itself is sometimes like juggling custard while riding a unicycle, the girls I work with are great fun and I spend my whole day talking – perfect! 

Although there have been a couple of wobbly moments, the majority of our year has been a GREAT adventure!  We have had great fun exploring our new home.  We have spent lots more time as a family (because we don’t have any choice LOL!) and of course we have added a fluffy element to our family!

As flippant as it sounds, the sun has made a big difference too!  Even in this year when Victoria has seen the worst weather in decades, we have been delighted!  Our Vitamin D cup runneth over!!  In summer it was toasty and we baked beside a pool or languished under our air conditioning vents.  Now in winter we think it’s chilly if we have to put a jumper on!  It’s not always perfect weather but it is almost always double figures so that’s good enough for me!

The first few months of being here were wild, we were constantly getting things set up for our new life, it is nice now just to be living it, putting down roots and making this ‘home’.

We made the right decision.  The gamble was worth it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to One year on

  1. Jacq says:

    Ahh, I’m glad you are happy there. Did I see something that made me think some of your family are emigrating too?

  2. Thanks! Yes, all being well Mum and Dad will be here by the end of the year! We are very excited – obviously – taking the kids away from them was the hardest thing we’ve ever done. So now they are doing all the packing and shipping like we were last year!

  3. Lynne says:

    How fabulous your family are moving too L – that will be so lovely! I’m glad it’s all worked out so well 🙂

  4. Yerda says:

    And stressing like you were! Pound is down against the ozzy dollar. House has been valued. Slightly less than we expected – but hey ho!! Still coming over asap!!!

  5. sarah says:

    Hi Laura, Sarah Willoughby here just sat and read through all your blog’s. We are seriously thinking of moving too got a few questions to ask you do you have an e-mail address so i can send you my never ending list .lol !

Leave a Reply

