Invasion

It is an exciting day at Park Towers today.  Because today we get to go to the airport and collect my Mum and Dad!  The best part about it is, we don’t have to take them back there because they are staying here for good!!

I haven’t blogged about their emigration for fear that I would jinx things with ‘The Curse of Laura’s Blog’ (remember the house buying fiasco of last year?!) but as they are in the air a mere couple of hours away I think it is fairly safe to say that this is happening!

They have sold their house of 30 years (within 24 hours of going on the market!), they have been steadily selling their clutter (just selling things from the loft they would never use or need again paid for their flights!), they have said their farewells to friends and remaining family (always the hardest :-() and now they are on their way over to start a new life on the other side of the world!

I am delighted and amazed that they are doing this!  It’s one thing to up sticks and move 10,505 miles when you are in your 30s and live in a pokey house.  It’s quiet another to do this when you are nearing retirement, are perfectly well settled and finally have your house exactly the way you want it.

I am under no illusions what the draw to Australia is.  It’s not the weather, it’s not the lifestyle, I am not arrogant enough to think it’s me. 

It’s the two very excited little people currently tucked up in bed, fully clothed so that they will be ready to jump in the car at 2am to wave their banner at the airport!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Invasion

  1. Tracey Hand says:

    😀

    So excited for you all xx

  2. Jacq says:

    Awww that’s so, so lovely. The UK is definitely a poorer place, and Australia a richer one for your entire family emigrating there. I hope you’ll all be very happy.

  3. Look out Australia! We have landed.

  4. Hazel Marwick says:

    so pleased for you all Laura, I know how much this means to you…you know how much i want out and what stops me going…I am truly delighted for you…lots of love Hxx(Miss our chats though!)

  5. sarah says:

    I’m so glad it all worked out . The kids look so sweet I bet your mum an dad have missed them!
    love to you all ,
    the Willoughby’s x

Leave a Reply

