Chocolate Chip Cookies

Today is my first day back at work for over a week.  I took my birthday as a day of holiday (which is just as well considering all the things I had to pack in on that day!) and then Monday was a public holiday so I have had a lovely break!

It used to be that on our birthday at work we were treated to a cake and all the staff gathered to sing ‘Happy Birthday’.  Well, this year we decided that we are all grown-ups and unless it is a ‘special birthday’ we didn’t need to do this.  Instead the birthday person would bring in some kind of treat for morning tea.  So this time it’s my turn 🙂

This morning I have made a batch of THE BEST chocolate chip cookies ever.  I take no credit for these whatsoever as I just follow the recipe but, quite seriously, they are AMAZING!!  The first time I made them I had to leave the house because I just kept eating them!

The recipe is from The Hummingbird Bakery cookbook which is a fantastic book for sweet goodies.  I especially love the brownies and the sugar cookie recipes but there are also lots of different cakes and bar recipes.  I would highly recommend it if you are in the market for a baking book.

Anyway, here is the cookie recipe so that you too can enjoy the best ever cookies!

Set your oven to 170c/350f

  • 225g butter
  • 350g soft brown sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 400g plain flour
  • 2 1/2 tsp bicarb of soda
  • pinch of salt
  • 225g dark chocolate

Cream together the butter and sugar – it says until fluffy, but I take exception to that because sugar and butter will never look ‘fluffy’ – anyway, that’s just my little issue!

Mix in the eggs one at a time then add the vanilla.  Make sure you scrape any mixture from the sides of the bowl.

Stir in the flour, bicarb and salt until it is a smooth dough. 

Chop the chocolate (much easier if you have a Pampered Chef chopper – if you don’t already have one you should get one!!) and stir it in so that it is evenly mixed into the dough.

Roll dessert-spoonfuls of the mixture into balls – I get about 30 decent sized cookies out of each batch (which, incidentally makes them perfect for giving out in class as a birthday treat if your school allows that – Ruby has put her order in for next week!) – and put on baking trays (or Pampered Chef Pizza Stones :-)) which have been lined with greaseproof paper.  The cookies will spread quite a bit so make sure to leave plenty space between them.

Bake in the oven for ten minutes, they should be *just* going light brown and still look quite gooey.

When you take them out leave them to cool completely on the paper because they are still a bit unstable.

Ta da!  Perfect, delicious cookies!  Now don’t blame me if you eat them all before your kids get home from school!!!

This entry was posted in recipes, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. Tracey Hand says:

    Recipe duly copied, printed and ready to bake!!
    I’m all for new cookie recipes.

    As for the Pampered Chef stuff, you on commission or something? 😉

    • Oooh, do let me know how they go! I am not on commission, but I should be!! I just love their stuff and use it all the time. Stones are so much nicer than trays! I use mine ALL the time for all sorts!
      L xxx

  2. sarah says:

    It was Liam’s birthday today and he took in Hummingbird cookbook Brownies & oatmeal/raisin cookies. Your cookies all look beautifully round & professional. Mine looked rather rustic!

    • I’ve never made the oatmeal raisin ones – are they yummy? I LOVE the brownies, I make them as gifts sometimes because they seem to go down well with most people!! Happy birthday to Liam! L xxx

  3. If you only have a stuck together packet of dark brown soft sugar you can’t get the lumps out of, and not enough chocolate, I substituted half the chocolate with chopped crystallised ginger, the lumpy bits of sugar have gone a bit crunchie crossed with burnt toffee flavour lumps, so all in all perfectly OK (have given to someone who didn’t know wasn’t intentional lumps who declared them really yummy).

Leave a Reply

