Meatless Month

You know how we love a themed, time-restricted challenge here at Park Towers!  We’ve had Week O’Steak, War Week, Skirtember – and probably lots more but I can’t keep up with all my whims!!

Anyway, Michael and I have decided to embark on a Meatless Month.  He often sees the cattle trucks going along the freeway and the sheep and cows are crammed in and distressed.  We both saw this picture on Facebook and it made me feel really ill – that is a living, breathing creature.  I am sure someone (probably my brother ;-)!) will have a dozen arguments about how cows emote differently than we do and that we are just imposing our emotions on their experience in the trucks and that that picture is photoshopped but really, I’m not too bothered.  I am interested in extending my vegetarian repertoire and if we do decide to add meat back into our diets then we will probably try to find somewhere like Whitmuir where we used to get our meat in Scotland.  I loved it there, I really liked their idea that the animals got to be animals before they got to be food!

So I have been collecting lots of yummy sounding vegetarian recipes and made my first dinner before heading out to work for the late shift today.

It was based on Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall’s Chickpea Ketchup Curry … (in the original he adds chilli flakes at the same time as the garlic and the juice of half a lemon at the end – A hates anything with chilli in it and I didn’t have any lemons so I left these out)

  • A glug of olive oil
  • 1/2 an onion – diced
  • 2 cloves of garlic – crushed
  • tsp grated ginger
  • TBSP curry paste (I used Patak’s Korma)
  • 1 tin chickpeas – drained
  • 5 TBSP ketchup
  • Salt & pepper

Over a low heat, sweat the onion while you get all the rest of the ingredients assembled.

When the onion goes translucent, add the garlic, ginger and curry paste.  Mix around.

Add chick peas, mix and then add a little water to loosen the sauce a bit. 

Cook for about five minutes.

As Alexander doesn’t like rice, I left a few wraps for him to have with this and rice for everyone else.  I was fair looking forward to it because it smelled scrummy but when I got home there was none left!!!  Apparently everyone had eaten it – this is nothing short of miraculous and while I should have been annoyed because I now had no dinner, I was delighted that they had enjoyed something so quick, cheap and easy to make!!

I’d love to show you a picture of what it looked like but there was not a scrap left (and I even checked the bin in case they had all scraped their plates in there!!  This isn’t my first rodeo ;-))  You’ll just have to make it yourself if you want to see what it looks like!!

I’ll let you know how we get on with our veggie month 🙂

This entry was posted in recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

