Day Two in the Low Salicylate House

It was another day of non-stop cooking. Now if you’d asked me a week ago if I liked cooking then the answer would be a resounding ‘yes’! I love trying new recipes and I am usually pretty happy with the results – as are at least 75% people in my house (you know the phrase ‘You can’t please all of the people all of the time’? Well, never is that more true than round the Park dinner table so I have come to realise that 75% is a win!)

Well today I lost every bit of that enjoyment!! I know very well what happens when you add yeast to water and how long it takes for onions to go translucent when sautéed in olive oil but I have no idea how rice flour or potato flour comes together in a dough or how long leeks take to sauté in dairy free margarine! Everything takes forever and doesn’t work how I expect it to!

I don’t react well to frustration. I am prone to catastrophising and I will readily admit that standing in the kitchen today, surrounded by every dish I own (dirty) and three not particularly appetising snacks I did think ‘We’re all going to die of scurvy’ and ‘#%*! this, she can just put cream on her skin!’.

And Michael couldn’t even talk me down with a chocolate biscuit and a cup of tea!!

So on the menu today –
Breakfast – porridge made with rice milk (Alexander liked it – Ruby not so much)
Lunch – Vegetable strudels (potato, turnip and green beans inside rice and potato flour pastry – meh)
Dinner – Pasta with green beans, celery and leeks with chicken and homemade chicken stock then rice pudding with tinned pears for afters. (Ruby loved the pasta but not the dessert, Alexander didn’t like the pasta but loved the pudding – see, 75%)

I also made some vanilla cookies and English muffins for lunch boxes through the week.

I hope this makes a huge difference to Ruby because at the moment I am not loving it!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

