Eggtastic and dog bathing

I spent the day taking care of some stuff we needed done, bank appointments, gym membership (eek, must be desperate to meet people!), presents and cards for all the millions of people who are having birthdays soon!  Whether they make it to the Post Office on time remains to be seen!  To do all this I walked around town from one place to another and by the time I got home I have done about seven miles of walking.  A couple of months ago I would have said, ‘pah, I laugh at your seven mile walk!’ but since my feet have gone postal I have hardly walked at all – just to school and back with the kids and Larry.  Tonight my poor feet are all sore again – but I did get a lot done!

Before I left, I had taken out some minced beef to make burgers for dinner but the house was so bleeding cold today that it didn’t thaw!  Ridiculous!  It also meant that my dinner plans were somewhat thwarted!  As we have already had my fall back dinners this week (tomato pasta and homemade pizzas) I had to dig through the cupboard for something else and all I could come up with was eggs.   That’s what happens when you plan your menus too well, you end up with no Plan B!  For some reason we had LOTS of eggs though.Michael brought some bread home and I made french toast and Apfel Pfannkuchen.  I know a lot of people eat french toast with syrup and sugar but that is just WEIRD!  The only good way to eat french toast is with salt and ketchup.  I don’t really like ketchup but I can’t eat french toast without it.

Ruby insisted that she didn’t like french toast so I made her scrambled eggs with bread and butter instead – same thing just different method of delivery.  Halfway through Michael having his dinner she decided that she did like it after all and managed to talk him into giving her some of his – as well as eating all her own, that’s my girl!

The Apfel Pfannkuchen (ooh, just noticed that I gave that capital letters – I do remember *something* of standard grade German!) was AWESOME!  It is so easy and delicious and EVERYONE could have eaten twice as much!  It is yet another recipe from The Frugal Girl and is a kind of yorkshire pudding with cinnamony apples in it – delish!  I was going to take a picture of it but we ate it so quickly that this is all that was left!

To make it you get a pie dish, add 2tbsp butter and put it in a 200 degree oven.  In a bowl, whisk together 2 eggs, 6tbsp flour, 6 tbsp milk and a pinch of salt.  Cut and peel a normal eating apple (this is a good way to use up those apples that are a little past their best, or as in our house, the apples that certain little people promise they want, take a bite out of and then abandon!) and in a different bowl mix together 2tbsp brown sugar and 1/4 tsp cinnamon and coat the apples with this sugary mixture.  Get the pie dish out of the oven, tip in the apple/sugar mix and pour the batter over the top then whack it back in the oven for 20 minutes or so.  I put it in the oven when I dish up the main course so it is ready at about the same time we are.  It should be puffy and light brown on the top.  We like to have it with vanilla ice cream but that’s up to you.

Anyway, after this unexpectedly eggy but very yumtious dinner, I went for a bath and in the name of water conservation gave the dog a bath after I got out.  He was not particularly impressed++ but he took it very well.  Of course, we took the opportunity to make him look a little bit silly

He was not pleased about this – if this isn’t a look that says, ‘I know what you are doing and I hate you for it’, then I don’t know what is!

He now smells divine with his doggy shampoo – much nicer than dusty dog smell!  He still isn’t allowed on the settee though!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Eggtastic and dog bathing

  1. Pingback: 15 Things That Dogs Do And What They’re Thinking When They Do It | ScoopWhoop

Leave a comment